Whitewater Rafting

Further Whitewater Rafting Travel Information

Recommended Whitewater Rafting Books

The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Canoeing and Kayaking by Dennis Stuhaug
You know who you are and you know why you like this book: it’s easy to read, details are clear and concise, and you know you won’t feel so much like an idiot after reading it.
Canyon Solitude: A Woman’s Solo River Journey Through the Grand Canyon by Patricia McCairen.
One woman’s memoir of a 25-day solo journey down one of America’s greatest rivers and landscapes.
The Guide’s Guide Augmented: Reflections on Guiding Professional River Trips by William McGinnis.
Everything you could ever want to know about being a rafting guide.
Paddler Magazine (http://www.paddlermagazine.com)
Apart from an annual touring issue, there are loads of articles from seasoned writers on kayaking and rafting trips, events, gear, news, maps, tests, and guides.
Wavelength Magazine (http://www.wavelengthmagazine.com).
British Columbia based glossy magazine with a useful website Articles focus on gear, journeys, trip photos, race information and results, and news.
Whitewater Rafting by Graeme Addison
A basic introduction to whitewater rafting.
Whitewater Rafting Manual: Tactics and Techniques for Great River Adventures by Jimmie Johnson
Basic information on the technical aspects of whitewater sports.
Whitewater Rescue Manual: New Techniques for Canoeists, Kayakers, and Rafters by Charles Walbridge and Wayne A. Sundmacher
A must read for any whitewater enthusiast. Safety tips and detailed descriptions of what to do in a rescue and emergency situation.

Useful Whitewater Rafting Websites

General

Paddling Life (http://www.paddlinglife.net)
One of the most important ezines on paddling, sea kayaking and whitewater rafting. Contains tons of features, back articles, videos, message boards, guides and contests.
The Kayaking Journal (http://www.kayakingjournal.com)
Information on sea and whitewater kayaking. There are gear reviews, a bookstore, tour details, club links, and a newsletter.
Raft Info (http://www.raftinfo.com)
Trip planning, river reports, and videos from a collection of tour operators spread out across the Americas.
Wet Dawg (http://www.wetdawg.com)
An e-zine focusing on various water sports including rafting and kayaking. Videos, forums, clubs, interviews, and other features are included.

North America

American Whitewater (http://www.americanwhitewater.org)
Organization that helps clean up America’s rivers, imporves land management, and protects public access to rivers for recreational use.
National Rivers (http://www.nationalrivers.org)
This site is geared toward paddling and activities on rivers, but there is also some good information and links on other activities as well.
Paddlesports Industry Association (http://www.paddlesportsindustry.org)
Organization dedicated to promoting safe, clean, and ethical canoeing, kayaking, and rafting. Search engine for finding paddling outfitters and retailers and basic background details on the sport.
Raft Wet (http://www.raftwet.com)
This is the home page of a California rafting operator, but has lots of extra unbiased data that cannot be ignored. A great deal of information, photos, links, tour information, maps and resources for paddlers.

Asia

Raft Nepal (http://www.raftnepal.org)
Online guide to the whitewater and adventure sporting in the Himalayas. A non-profit site.

New Zealand

Whitewater Junkies (http://www.whitewaterjunkies.bravehost.com)
Kiwi site with flow and rainfall rates for places in New Zealand.

Whitewater Rafting Tours

Close